|A brief history
The first known reference to Palewell Common, a ‘place called the Pale’, appears in 16th century manorial records. The Common land was part of the interests of the Lord of Manorship which fell to the Spencer family until these interests were transferred to other local landowners living to the west of the Common. In 1921, following a petition from local residents in 1913, the land was transferred to the council which has subsequently managed the area.The area known as the Fields formed part of the grounds of Clarence House in Priory Lane, Roehampton until they were purchased by the Council in 1920. Since the 1920’s the facilities within the Common and Fields have changed and developed but the area continues to retain its unique character.We are eager to further develop this section of the Friends web-site. We welcome any historical facts, photographs or anecdotes relating to Palewell Common that you think will be of interest.
Click here to see Palewell pond in its heyday.
Please contact us at email@example.com.